Be Still

I hope this month is proceeding well for you- probably not with all shopping and wrapping the presents. Haha. I’m pretty sure after thanksgiving, everything got busy.

I never expected I would be busy with working and helping my mom’s The Salvation Army. In addition, I spent a week half working on editing videos (people liked it which  good) for an event.  I became sick after the first week of December. It’s insane of how a nearly month can be. Could you believe it?

Anyway, I wanted make this blog short. A while ago, I was having a little crisis– well, I had those a few times lately. So I kept myself engaged to get my mind off and I felt better afterward. When I came home, I remembered earlier that I got an email from Julia Mann about her updates. Some of you may or may not know who Julia* is. I met her through Twitter and found out she is a follower of Christ. Also, I learned that she is a blogger. Back to the point, I went to check Julia’s e-mail and read the part:

“It’s been a non-stop of “what-the-heck-am-I-doing” kinda thing. I feel like my head is barely above water. And speaking of water, I couldn’t help but think of this passage in Mark 4:35-41!

35 . That day when evening came, he said to his disciples, “Let us go over to the other side.”  36. Leaving the crowd behind, they took him along, just as he was, in the boat. There were also other boats with him. 37. A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped. 38. Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?” 39.  He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm. 40. He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?” 41. They were terrified and asked each other, “Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!”

Maybe your boat is sinking, going in a funky direction, or you’re like me and you’re barely hanging on. It’s like a big fat WHAMMIE of truth in my face. I think we get caught up in our “storm” that we forget about WHO is controlling it – our Savior. Jesus controls the waves, He controls the boat, and guides our boat in the right direction. He brings peace, hope, comfort, and understanding.

Be still. Take some time out of your day and just rest in His promises. Allow him to GROW your little faith – may it be be bigger + stronger + deeper.”

When I read that, it impacted me. Before the email popped up, I contacted someone about my crisis then the email showed up. I didn’t even check it until later. If I read the moment I received, I’d probably feel a lot better than keep me busy to make myself better. You know what I mean? Julia’s right that we- – I forgot–  about who is controlling in the storm. She mentioned “Jesus controls the waves, He controls the boat, and guides our boat in the right direction. He brings peace, hope, comfort, and understanding.” No argue with that. It’s just simple for everything. All I have to do is to be still. I know most of you believe or don’t believe but as for me, I believe it plus Julia. I’m grateful to know her.  I mean, if it wasn’t for her or if I didn’t find her through social media- I’d probably wouldn’t be writing this right now. Thank you, Lord, for her and for this. You never stop amaze me. Guys, this same goes for you.

I wish you have a great Christmas. Remember, enjoy and cherish your moment with your family and loved people! And let’s fingers-crossed to have a snow on 25th. Perhaps, Olaf will be joining us with “Do You Want to Build a Snowman?” Haha. That’d be great, huh? 🙂

*check out Julia’s blog.

Leave a Comment

